Maybe You’re Not Allowed to Have Both

harriet spy

Over on Uproxx you can find an oral history of the 1996 Harriet the Spy movie. Now I’m not saying my enjoyment of Harriet the Spy as a child was an eerie premonition for my future career path, however it got me thinking.

There are certain moments where we can see the potential courses in our lives diverge. For me, the first one was probably when Harriet decides she has to choose being a spy over having friends.

If Golly said having to choose between being a spy and having friends, I’d pick spy. Maybe you’re not allowed to have both.

 

It’s a sentiment echoed with greater articulation by Lester Bangs in Almost Famous, another story about a precocious writer.

You have to make your reputation on being honest, and unmerciful.


 

 

Leave a comment