Vanillas Want Me to Know They are Totally Hip

I always enjoy watching the mainstream arrive late to the party.

2004 Mainstream: Hey did you know it’s cool to be bisexual (if you’re a hot looking woman)?

2004 Me: Oh, that’s adorable, but I’m too busy having threeways to talk to you right now.

2014 Mainstream: Hey did you know (this will totally blow your mind) people are questioning if monogamy is the ‘way to go’?

2014 Me: Everyone I know who I am not related to by blood is polyamorous.

2014 Mainstream: …

2014 Me: Dawww, don’t look so sad, mainstream, soon you’ll discover trans rights and you’ll be excited again.

This article from a couple years ago that I tripped over absolutely reeks of ‘young people today, amirite? [eyeroll]’ and sortof kindof throws a few stats and odd facts together in a pretty lazy bit of journalism.

However, buried in the bottom is an absolute gem of a block quote which I will shamelessly repeat here (emphasis mine).

“I’m not out actively trying to get laid. Even on tour, I find myself getting high and watching Adventure Time or mixing music or doing something introverted and nerdy so I can make better music.” Still, “you find someone that’s just so amazing that it would be irresponsible on your life’s trajectory not to [sleep with them], then that’s what the five percent is for. I don’t want to ever feel like I missed out.”

Love,

CC

One thought on “Vanillas Want Me to Know They are Totally Hip

Leave a Reply

